The State of Tennessee has a fund to reimburse innocent victims of violent crimes or their dependents who have suffered out-of-pocket expenses due to physical injuries, loss of income, or death.
·A written claim must be filed within 1 year after the date of the criminal offense.
· The victim must fully cooperate with the law enforcement officials in their investigation and the prosecution of such crime.
· The victim must report the crime to the proper authorities within 48 hours after it occured.
· A person may not be eligible for these benefits if that individual contributed to his or her own victimization in anyway, such as participating in the criminal act which led to injury or death.
· This fund does not pay for your personal property that was stolen or destroyed by a crime.
For additional information about filing for victim’s compensation go to www.treasury.state.tn.us/injury/, call the Division of Claims Administration at 615-741-2734, or the Victim Witness Services Division in the DA’s Office at 615-862-5500.
Office of the District Attorney General
Washington Square, Suite 500
222 2nd Avenue North
Nashville, TN 37201 - 1649
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. M - F
Phone (615) 862-5500 | Fax (615) 862-5599